CONNECT WITH US:            

BWC and POE Crowned CSSHL Champions

By Kirk Budden on March 23, 2017

The Burnaby Winter Club Academy Elite 15s took home the Canadian Sport School Hockey League (CSSHL) Elite 15s division Championship with a 6-3 win in the final game. BWC came into the postseason with a 21-5-4 record for a second place finish in the regular season.

BWC beat the Northern Alberta Xtreme 6-3 thanks to stellar play by Sean Donaldson, who posted two goals and an assist. Donaldson led the way as he’s done all year, ending the season as BWC’s top point producer with 37 points in 30 games, and notching 12 points in the playoffs. 

Gabriel Suessenbacher-Fu, Tristan Fraser, Ryan Denney and Nick Bochen put up the rest of the offence for BWC, which saw goaltender Kaeden Freer-Lane stop 38 shots. Denny followed up his regular season’s 24 points in 29 games with three points and only his second goal of the playoffs in the finals.  

Northern Alberta leaned on Braden Potter, who turned away 27 of the 32 shots he faced while Bruce MacGregor, Greyson Stewart and Matt Raymond posted the goals. 

British Columbia’s Pursuit of Excellence (POE) had a successful weekend at the CSSHL championships. The Bantam Prep team took home the championship victory on the back of Connor McClennon, who scored three goals leading his team to a dominant 7-1 victory over Delta Academy. 

While McClennon led the way with the hat trick and added an assist, teammates Kyle Crnkovic had a five-point night and Jordan Borysiuk had a pair of goals.  Delta Academy and POE finished first and second, respectively, in the final league standings. These finals were viewed as a great showcase for the 2017 WHL Bantam Draft in May and featured some of this year’s top eligible prospects.

For their part, the Midget Varsity team used a plethora of scoring to win the CSSHL Midget Varsity championship.

POE Midget Varsity was able to get to Pilot Mound Hockey academy early on route to a 6-3 win. 

Pursuit didn’t lean on any one player, rather 12 players recorded at least a single point in the championship game. Jared Pitkethly, Alex Gilowski and Nicholas Cherkowski all put up two points each, Pitkethly and Cherkowski had a goal and an assist, while Gilowski added two assists. 

Goalie Noah DeSouza made 29 saves on 32 shots and only allowed one goal through the first two periods. 

Kobe Campbell was the lone highlight for Pilot as he tallied two goals in the championship game in the losing effort. 

Back to Top

March 23, 2017
Categories:  Minor Hockey
Keywords:  B.C. Minor HockeyCSSHL

Add A Comment


Allowed HTML: <b>, <i>, <u>, <a>




Most Read:
1) JUNIOR B UPDATE: KIJHL’s Castlegar Rebels announce new coach and GM; Sharp calling the shots for HJHL’s Three Hills Thrashers
2) On Top of the World: CSSHL Keeps Gaining Traction in Canada’s Hockey Landscape
3) Around the WHL: Eleven WHL players help Canada win Hlinka Gretzky gold; Tigers deal White to ICE
4) Meet Matthew Savoie, the NAX Forward Taking the CSSHL by Storm
5) Meet The Winners Of The 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Player Of The Year Award Powered By Hockeyshot

Cumberland Grads netminder making the most of CCHL opportunity

- See more at:

Krebs and Byram making strong case for top-round consideration in 2016 WHL Draft

- See more at: