CONNECT WITH US:            

Jayna Hefford selected to Hockey Hall of Fame

By HockeyNow on June 27, 2018
Jayna Hefford has been selected to join the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Former Team Canada women’s hockey forward Jayna Hefford is punching her ticket to the Hockey Hall of Fame.

The 2018 induction class, announced June 26, includes the 41-year-old Ontario hockey mom who wore the Maple Leaf in five Winter Olympiads, beginning in 1998. She won four Olympic gold medals and one silver in an elite senior women’s hockey career spanning two decades.

Making her world-championship debut for the Hockey Canada women’s squad in 1997, Hefford would go on to win seven world gold medals and five silver medals. She retired from Team Canada in 2015 with 157 goals and 134 assists in 267 international games.

When not wearing a Team Canada sweater, Hefford stayed sharp playing for the Canadian Women’s Hockey League’s Brampton Thunder.

From 2010-2013 she helped the Thunder reach the Clarkson Cup. 

She won the league’s Angela James Bowl as the CWHL’s leading scorer In 2008-09, a year after helping Brampton win the league championship.

The CWHL now awards the Jayna Hefford Trophy annually to the league’s most outstanding player as voted by the players.

She’s the sixth women’s player inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. 

She joins Martin Brodeur, Martin St. Louis, Soviet Union great Alexander Yakushev, Willie O’Ree (builder) and Gary Bettman (builder) in the 2018 induction class.

The Hockey Hall of Fame 2018 induction celebration and ceremony goes November 9-12 in Toronto.


Back to Top

By HockeyNow| June 27, 2018
Categories:  Female
Keywords:  Female National

Add A Comment


Allowed HTML: <b>, <i>, <u>, <a>




Most Read:
1) JUNIOR B UPDATE: KIJHL’s Castlegar Rebels announce new coach and GM; Sharp calling the shots for HJHL’s Three Hills Thrashers
2) On Top of the World: CSSHL Keeps Gaining Traction in Canada’s Hockey Landscape
3) Around the WHL: Eleven WHL players help Canada win Hlinka Gretzky gold; Tigers deal White to ICE
4) Meet Matthew Savoie, the NAX Forward Taking the CSSHL by Storm
5) Meet The Winners Of The 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Player Of The Year Award Powered By Hockeyshot

Cumberland Grads netminder making the most of CCHL opportunity

- See more at:

Krebs and Byram making strong case for top-round consideration in 2016 WHL Draft

- See more at: